Seasons on Earth

Seasons on Earth None

  • Title: Seasons on Earth
  • Author: Kenneth Koch
  • ISBN: 9780140585766
  • Page: 314
  • Format: Paperback
  • None

    • Seasons on Earth ¦ Kenneth Koch
      314 Kenneth Koch
    • thumbnail Title: Seasons on Earth ¦ Kenneth Koch
      Posted by:Kenneth Koch
      Published :2019-05-02T15:30:26+00:00

    About " Kenneth Koch "

  • Kenneth Koch

    Kenneth Koch is most often recognized as one of the four most prominent poets of the 1950s 1960s poetic movement the New York School of Poetry along with Frank O Hara, John Ashbery and James Schuyler The New York School adopted the avant garde movement in a style often called the new avant garde, drawing on Abstract Expressionism, French surrealism and stream of consciousness writing in the attempt to create a fresh genre free from clich In his anthology The New York Poets, Mark Ford writes, In their reaction against the serious, ironic, ostentatiously well made lyric that dominated the post war poetry scene, they turned to the work of an eclectic range of literary iconoclasts, eccentrics and experimenters Fiercely anti academic and anti establishment, Koch s attitude and aesthetic were dubbed by John Ashbery his missionary zeal Ford calls him the New York School poet most ready to engage in polemic with the poetic establishment, and the one most determined to promote the work of himself and his friends to a wider audience Koch died of leukemia at age 77, leaving a legacy of numerous anthologies of both short and long poems, avant garde plays and short stories, in addition to nonfiction works dealing with aesthetics and teaching poetry to children and senior citizens.

  • 374 Comments

  • A fascinating and strange book containing two massive, epic poems as well as a long introductory poem about the author's relationship to the works. He wrote "Ko" (/book/show/1) in his thirties, them returned to the work with a sort-of sequel, "The Duplications" (/book/show/9) about ten or so years later, and then wrote the introductory piece another ten or so years later. All three are amazing takes on epic poems, in the vein of "Orlando Furioso" and Byron's "Don Juan." They follow the ottava ri [...]


  • Post Your Comment Here

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *