A Drink of Deadly Wine

A Drink of Deadly Wine In the tradition of Martha Grimes and Elizabeth George comes a dazzling first novel about an Anglican priest who finds his brilliant future evaporating and his prestigious church position threatened w

  • Title: A Drink of Deadly Wine
  • Author: Kate Charles
  • ISBN: 9780892965014
  • Page: 208
  • Format: Hardcover
  • In the tradition of Martha Grimes and Elizabeth George comes a dazzling first novel about an Anglican priest who finds his brilliant future evaporating and his prestigious church position threatened when a blackmailer comes to call When a friend of the priest s agrees to investigate, he uncovers skeletons than he knows what to do with.

    • A Drink of Deadly Wine - Kate Charles
      208 Kate Charles
    • thumbnail Title: A Drink of Deadly Wine - Kate Charles
      Posted by:Kate Charles
      Published :2019-05-14T06:25:21+00:00

    About " Kate Charles "

  • Kate Charles

    Kate Charles Is a well-known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the A Drink of Deadly Wine book, this is one of the most wanted Kate Charles author readers around the world.

  • 550 Comments

  • I really enjoyed this book. The location of Kensington Gardens in London would give the impression that it was a very ‘city’ based story. This could not be more wrong. The parish of St. Anne’s, although in the heart of the city is very tight knit and you could easily be mistaken in thinking that it is a village parish. All of the congregation gather for not only services but events like ‘village’ fetes, tea in the vicar’s garden etc. The Vicar Gabriel Neville is loved by all around h [...]


  • This mystery was not only in my favourite genre (ecclesiastical mystery) but it also featured life in the Anglican Church, with which I identify strongly because I myself am an Anglican priest. If that shared world weren't enough, the book also had compelling characters who were revealed or developed in significant ways throughout the story. And the mystery itself was interesting. Even more than that, this book had an intriguing development: this is the first book I've ever read which "starred" [...]


  • Started off slow with an introduction of too many characters but then it completely absorbed my interest. The mystery plays second fiddle to the characters and their relationships. A good lesson in how there are many loves and no love is bad, as long as it is true.


  • Enjoyed this, although it might not appeal to you if you haven't encountered the spiky end of the Church of England at close quarters. (I have, in London, and at the time in which the book is set, so felt quite at home). Also it is pretty slow to begin with, and although I recognise the situation of the Vicar whose gay past comes back to haunt him I found it quite hard to believe that he would be so keen on having his former gay lover to come and stay in the parish when he is being blackmailed a [...]


  • An easy to read mystery set in a high Anglican Church in London. The author does come across as a bit of a snob but nevertheless an enjoyable story.


  • Never read anything quite like this. A character driven mystery with believable situations and people. Now being a regular church goer, I recognised some of the behind the scenes politics. Loved it.


  • I rarely re-read books (no time)! But this series has stayed with me for years, and I thought it was time to revisit it to see if it was as good as I remembered. It was better.British solicitor David Middleton-Brown is a single, middle-aged lawyer whose one serious love affair ended badly a decade before. The recent death of his mother has left him a bit adrift; after all, he was at her beck and call for the last 10 years of her life. So when voices from his past beckon him to London for a worki [...]


  • Lawyer David Middleton-Brown is summoned to St. Anne’s church in London by its pastor, Gabriel Neville, ostensibly to advise on the restoration of one of the church’s chapels. He is also there at the behest of Gabriel because of the blackmail letters Gabriel has been receiving about his homosexual past, part of which included David. A woman found hanged in the sacristy adds to the mystery which is solved perhaps a little too neatly, but still in a satisfying manner.


  • A different kind of mysteryAlthough it's not a crime story as such, it is different to the kind of books I usually read. Churches and religion not being my thing, I did enjoy it though. The plot was different, intriguing, and some of the characters were quite odd, well very odd in fact


  • An enjoyable mystery set in London with well developed intercharacter relationships. As the blackmailing and death mysteries are being investigated, the past and developing relationships between the central characters in both the mystery play an increasingly important role in the story line. Serving as the story background is a parish church, its congregation, and minister.


  • Surprisingly complex, plot-wise. Not at all, language-wise. But I loved the Psalm quotes at the beginning of each chapter - it really illustrates how all-purpose the Psalms are. A fun vacation book.


  • A young up-and-coming Anglican priest is desperate to halt rumors of his homosexual past, and who better to call on for assistance than his former lover, jilted but still carrying a torch? Well-drawn characters, but flawed by a no-way! conclusion.


  • An incredible debut entry in the Book of Psalms series. Complex and nuanced characters, plot full of twists and turns. Final resolution of the mystery was weak but the rest of it was so good, the mystery almost didn't matter.


  • An interesting look into the modern Church of England, of which some portions are more Catholic in their traditions and practices than modern day Roman Catholics. A tidy mystery of church politics and dirty personal laundry.



  • I had aa hard time4e getting into this one. If I didn't need it for several challenges I would have quit a third of the way through. However,it did pick up. Interesting ending






  • This is a very light read and wonderful! There is a background of the Church of England to ass interest to the mystery.


  • Post Your Comment Here

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *