George Balanchine's the Nutcracker

George Balanchine s the Nutcracker Photographs taken during the film production capture all the elegant and rich movement of George Balanchine s ballet Performed by New York City Ballet Includes CD The nutcracker highlights performed

  • Title: George Balanchine's the Nutcracker
  • Author: Joel Meyerowitz
  • ISBN: 9780316569217
  • Page: 271
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Photographs taken during the film production, capture all the elegant and rich movement of George Balanchine s ballet Performed by New York City Ballet.Includes CD The nutcracker highlights, performed by the Philharmonia Orchestra.

    • George Balanchine's the Nutcracker : Joel Meyerowitz
      271 Joel Meyerowitz
    • thumbnail Title: George Balanchine's the Nutcracker : Joel Meyerowitz
      Posted by:Joel Meyerowitz
      Published :2019-07-16T04:06:33+00:00

    About " Joel Meyerowitz "

  • Joel Meyerowitz

    Joel Meyerowitz is an award winning photographer whose work has appeared in over 350 exhibitions in museums and galleries around the world He was born in New York in 1938 and began photographing in 1962 Meyerowitz is a street photographer in the tradition of Henri Cartier Bresson and Robert Frank, although he works exclusively in color As an early advocate of color photography early 60 s he was instrumental in changing the attitude toward color photography from one of resistance to nearly universal acceptance His first book Cape Light is considered a classic work of color photography and has sold over 100,000 copies during its 26 year life He has published nineteen other books including Bystander The History of Street Photography and Provence Lasting Impressions In 1998 Meyerowitz produced and directed his first film, POP , an intimate diary of a three week road trip he made with his son Sasha and his father, Hy This odyssey has as its central character an unpredictable, street wise and witty 87 year old with Alzheimer s It is both an open eyed look at aging and a meditation on the significance of memory.Within a few days of the 9 11 attacks on the World Trade Center in New York, Meyerowitz began to create an archive of the destruction and recovery at Ground Zero He was the only photographer who was granted unimpeded access to the site Meyerowitz took a meditative stance toward the work and workers there, systematically documenting the painful work of rescue, recovery, demolition and excavation The World Trade Center Archive includes than 8,000 images and will be available for research, exhibition, and publication at museums in New York and Washington, DC.In 2001 The Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs of the U.S State Department asked the Museum of the City of New York and Meyerowitz to create a special exhibition of images from the archive to send around the world The images traveled to than 200 cities in 60 countries and over three and a half million people viewed the exhibition.In addition to the traveling shows, Meyerowitz was invited to represent the United States at the 8th Venice Biennale for Architecture with his photographs from the World Trade Center Archives In September 2002, he exhibited 73 images some as large as 22 feet in lower Manhattan Some recent books are Taking My Time , his fifty year, two volume, retrospective book by Phaidon Press of London, Provence lasting Impressions, co authored with his wife Maggie Barrett, a book on the late work of Paul Strand by Aperture, Glimpse Photographs From Moving Car, which was a solo show at MoMA, and Joel Meyerowitz Retrospective , published in conjunction with his recent show at NRW Forum in Dusseldorf.Meyerowitz is a Guggenheim fellow and a recipient of both the NEA and NEH awards His work is in the collection of the Museum of Modern Art, the Boston Museum of Fine Art, The Art Institute of Chicago, and many others.

  • 606 Comments

  • Photography of the New York City Ballets performance of the Nutcracker. The story is told along with the photos. It is well done and my daughter and I enjoyed it immensely. I noticed Godpapa Drosselmeier's nephew is Macaulay Culkin. I asked my daughter if she recognized him and she said,"He's in Home Alone." I had no idea "Kevin" had been a ballet dancer. Now, that is some fun holiday trivia.;) This would be a great book to prep children (and adults) before a Nutcracker performance. One more not [...]


  • My daughter became entranced by the Nutcracker when she was two, and four years later she still loves it-especially the performance this book is based on. Now this book has both the soundtrack and it's filled with scenes from the same performance. By love, love it, be whisked off to a front row seat every time.



  • This book comes w/ a CD of the music. My children love to listen to the music while they look at the book and recall scenes from the live ballet.


  • Really quite lovely. My children and I love to read it over and over again. Wonderful way to introduce children to the ballet.


  • Loved this book, perfect combination of the Nutcracker with beautiful illustrations from the ballet performance. Also includes the CD, couldn't ask for more.



  • Post Your Comment Here

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *